Open road

Waking up early is never anything I do with a great amount of spirit. Crawling out of bed, usually with a haggard countenance and a temper akin to a bear waking up from hibernation, has never been my favorite thing in the world. Except when I know there’s an opportunity for a good photograph. When nature’s elements work come together to form a good image, it’s worth the early-morning alarm. This happened to me today during Day 4 of the RAGBRAI bike ride. I have others I like better than this photo, I just chose this one for the blog because the subject is waving.

des.m0726ragbrai.bh

Riders up early on Thursday were treated to a beautiful sunrise over Red Rock Lake near Pella. (Bryon Houlgrave/The Des Moines Register)

Leave a Reply

